Arizona Truck Driving Championship (TDC)

Date:    Saturday, April 22, 2017

Location:  Tempe Diablo Stadium, Tempe AZ

Commercial Vehicle Drivers – must be employed by a member company of the ATA and also meet the qualifications on the 2017 TDC & Step Van entry and release form below:

Click here for the 2017 Driver Entry-Release forms

Click here for the 2017 Competitor-History form

Click here for the 2017 Instruction-memo

The above application/forms must be submitted to the Association office at 7500 W. Madison St., Tolleson, AZ, along with the registration fee of $115.00 per driver, no later than 5:00PM on Friday, March 31, 2017.

Volunteers Needed:   If you would like to volunteer with the  2017 TDC event – please complete the below form and return to or contact Karen Nesta @ 602.850.6003.

click here for 2017-TDC-Volunteer-Registration


About the Truck Driving Championship: The Arizona Professional Truck Driving Championships are organized to recognize and promote safe driving and professionalism in the transportation industry. This competitive event is designed to give drivers a chance to test their job skills under standardized conditions using vehicles that are the tools of their trade. The competition consists of a written test, a pre-trip inspection, and driving skills test, Truck driving championships afford a safe, accurate check of the driver’s ability to handle his/her unit in close quarters.

The state finals winners will compete with other states’ winners at the National Truck Driving Championships. The National Truck Driving Championships are hosted by American Trucking Associations in various cities throughout the nation.

ATA’s Safety and Maintenance Council through its Truck Driving Championship Committee organizes this yearly event. A dedicated group of volunteers participate on the Committee and, along with more volunteers, facilitate and judge this annual competition.

2016 Truck Driving Championship Results

Arthur  Dority III (Knight Transportation, Inc.) was awarded the 2016 “Grand Champion”.

Additional high honors include:

  • Best Skills/Driving Course Score – Albert Ochoa (FedEx Freight)
  • Best Pre-Trip Inspection – Robert Gordon (XPO Logistics, Inc.)
  • Rookie of the Year – Jeffery Fahsholtz (ABF Freight System, Inc.)

First in each class are listed below.

3 Axle Class – Albert Ochoa – FedEx Freight
4 Axle Class – Andres Orozco – FedEx Freight
5 Axle Class – Brian Sprowel – J&L Transportation, Inc.
Flatbed Class – Kenny Jones – Walmart Transportation, Inc.
Sleeper Berth Class – Arthur Dority III – Knight Transportation, Inc.
Straight Truck Class – Charlie Woodland – FedEx Freight
Tanker Class – Duane Donner, Walmart Transportation, LLC
Twins Class – Robert Gordon, XPO Logistics, Inc.
Step Van Class – Michael (Mike) Ortiz , FedEx Ground

A complete results listing can also be found here.

TDC and SuperTech News
17Apr 16

Arizona Truck Driving Championships 2016

Phoenix, AZ – The 2016 Annual Truck Driving and Step Van Championship Competition was held on April 16, 2016, at Tempe Diablo Stadium. 165 drivers participated in this year‘s event.…

read more