fbpx skip to Main Content
2024 Arizona Truck Driving Championship Results And Highlights

2024 Arizona Truck Driving Championship Results and Highlights

On April 13, 2024, the Arizona Trucking Association proudly hosted the annual Truck Driving Championship (TDC) at Tempe Diablo Stadium, featuring a strong turnout of 169 drivers. This year’s participants, many of whom boast millions of miles in accident-free driving, competed across several categories to demonstrate their driving and safety skills.

Competition Categories:

Written Exam: Drivers were tested on their knowledge of industry standards, first aid, wellness, injury prevention, and safety protocols.
Pre-Trip Inspection: Competitors showcased their understanding of truck equipment.
Skills/Driving Test: Drivers navigated through six realistic driving scenarios, testing their maneuvering skills.

Top Honors:

  • Grand Champion: David Coffel, FedEx Express
  • Best Skills/Driving Course Score: Chase Peterson, Shamrock Foods Co.
  • Best Pre-Trip Inspection: David Coffel, FedEx Express
  • Rookie of the Year (David Messmer Award): Michael Bass, Senergy Petroleum

Class Winners:

These winners will advance to represent Arizona at the National Truck Driving Championships in Indianapolis, IN, from August 21-24, 2024, competing against 430 top drivers from across the country.

1: Juan Rodriguez Torres – FedEx Ground
2: Adrian Nunez – United Parcel Services (UPS)
3: Justin Stone – United Parcel Services (UPS)

1: David A Zdanek – FedEx Freight
2: Rodney Pence – FedEx Freight
3: Gregory N. Ziegler – XPO Logistics, Inc.

1: Chase Peterson – Shamrock Foods Co
2: Luis Lopez – FedEx Freight
3: Christopher Finn  – XPO Logistics, Inc.

1: David Coffel – FedEx Express
2: Marc Anthony Ahumada – Shamrock Foods Co
3: Reynaldo Murrieta – FedEx Freight

1: Nathan Voss – United Parcel Service (UPS)
2: John M. Housley Jr. – Freeport Transportation, Inc.
3: Ruben Ibarra – Shamrock Foods Co

1: Ina Daly – XPO Logistics, Inc.
2: John C. Housley – Freeport Transportation, Inc.
3: Malique Washington – Swift Transportation Co. of AZ

1: Steven Garner – Shamrock Foods Co.
2: Robert Cound – Walmart Supply Chain
3: Michael Bass – Senergy Petroleum

1: Greg Ryan – Walmart Supply Chain
2: Nathaniel Prutsman – Walmart Supply Chain
3: Paul Winterich – United Parcel Service (UPS)

1: Mike Alpine  – ABF Freight System
2: Mohammed Khan – FedEx Freight
3: Issac Cano – XPO Logistics, Inc.

2024 Final Scores for All Competitors – click here.

The Arizona Trucking Association would like to thank all the competitors who participated in this year’s TDC.

We wouldl like to thank all the volunteers who make the event possible. With a special thank you to the Arizona Department of Public Safety, HDS Inc., and Southwest Truck Driver Training for providing teams of volunteers for the event.

We would also like to thank the many sponsors:

  • Venue Sponsors – Transtar Insurance Brokers, Inc.
  • National AZ Team Dinner – Nikola Corporation & Vanguard Truck Center
  • Golf Car Rental – FedEx Freight, FedEx Ground, & F|Staff
  • Barricades and Cones – Shamrock Foods Co.
  • Water & Ice – Walmart Supply Chain
  • National AZ Team Practice Lunch – JoyRide Logistics LLC
  • General Sponsors – Arcon Solutions, Inc., JoyRide Logistics LLC, Desert Ready Mix LLC, White Mountain Trucking LLC

Equipment Donations

  • ABF Freight System
  • Circle K
  • FedEx Ground
  • FedEx Freight
  • Freeport Transportation, Inc.
  • McKinney Trailer Rentals
  • Shamrock Foods Company
  • Southwest Truck Driver Training, Inc.
  • Swift Transportation Co. of AZ, LLC
  • Senergy Petroleum
  • TCI Leasing
  • UPS
  • Western Transport Logistics
  • Walmart Supply Chain
  • XPO Logistics, Inc.

Additional Sponsors

  • Arizona Public Service Co. (APS) – donation of recycle boxes
  • Shamrock Foods Company – Ice cream for everyone
  • Stewart Transport, Inc. – DPS competition breakfast
  • Southwest Truck Driver Training – Saturday morning coffee
  • Swift Transportation Co. of AZ, LLC – lunch for volunteers
  • Waste Management – Donation of trash dumpster

Raffle prize sponsors

  • Arcon Solutions, Inc.
  • Empire Truck & Trailer
  • FedEx Freight
  • Independent Carrier Safety Association
  • Shamrock Foods Co.
  • Transtar Insurance Brokers, Inc.
  • XPO Logistics, Inc.


Back To Top