fbpx skip to Main Content
Roland Bolduc Crowned National Truck Driving Championships Bendix Grand Champion

Roland Bolduc Crowned National Truck Driving Championships Bendix Grand Champion

Bryce Neilson Named Rookie of the Year at Trucking’s “Super Bowl of Safety”

Orlando, Florida – Today, American Trucking Associations announced Roland Bolduc as the Bendix Grand Champion of the 2017 National Truck Driving Championships.

“With an impressive showing this week, Roland Bolduc emerged as the leader of the field and is taking home our industry’s top prize,” said ATA President and CEO Chris Spear. “On behalf of ATA and the entire trucking community, I want to thank the strong field of competitors for participating in these championships and practicing safety every day on our nation’s highways. Your commitment to excellence makes us proud to be in the trucking industry.”

To clinch the esteemed title of 2017 Bendix Grand Champion, Bolduc’s driving accuracy and knowledge of truck safety surpassed the more than 420 other state champion professional truck drivers competing in all vehicle classes in Orlando, Florida this week.

Bolduc, who also took home the Sleeper Berth class title, lives in East Longmeadow, Massachusetts and drives professionally for FedEx Express. He has more than 1.9 million safe driving miles in his career and has worked in the trucking industry for more than 36 years, spending the last 23 years with FedEx Express. Bolduc was named an America’s Road Team Captain in 2000.

ATA also recognized Bryce Neilson as the 2017 Rookie of the Year. Neilson claimed the title after performing well in the Flatbed division. Additionally, the team of drivers from Kentucky produced the best collective score, with an average of 307.13, and were honored as the top state delegation.

Professionalism and dedication to the trucking industry were key themes during the National Truck Driving Championships. Daniel Shamrell was honored during the awards banquet with the Neill Darmstadter Professional Excellence Award and Joe Smith was chosen as the Lifetime Volunteer Award recipient.

ACT 1 served as a premier sponsor of the 2017 National Truck Driving Championships and National Step Van Driving Championships, which took place Aug. 9-12 at the Orange County Convention Center in Orlando, Florida.

Since 2011, Bendix Commercial Vehicle Systems has been the sole sponsor of the Bendix National Truck Driving Championships Grand Champion.

Champions from each of the 9 vehicle classes were also announced. Joining Roland Bolduc on the list of national champions are:

3-Axle: Glen Kirk, Franklin, Indiana, Old Dominion Freight Line

4-Axle: James Duffy, Marshall, Wisconsin, FedEx Freight

5-Axle: Michael Miltenberger, Cumberland, Maryland, PITT OHIO

Flatbed: Wayne Crowder, Louisville, Kentucky, FedEx Freight

Sleeper Berth: Roland Bolduc, East Longmeadow, Massachusetts, FedEx Express

Straight Truck: Richard Bailey, Macomb, Michigan, FedEx Freight

Tank Truck: Scott Woodrome, Middletown, Ohio, FedEx Freight

Twins: Chris Poyner, Richland, Washington, XPO Logistics

Step Van: Michael Bills, Fuquay Varina, North Carolina, FedEx Express

Other Awards
Rookie of the Year: Bryce Neilson, Anaconda, Montana, FedEx Freight

Team Champions: Kentucky

Vehicle Condition: Bryan Wold, Reiles Acres, North Dakota, XPO Logistics

Highest Written Exam Award: Paul Brandon, Oxford, Connecticut, FedEx Freight and Don Logan, Eskridge, Kansas, FedEx Freight

Neill Darmstadter Professional Excellence: Daniel Shamrell, Battle Ground, Washington, FedEx Freight

Lifetime Volunteer Award: Joe Smith, Kenco Management

Full results from today’s final competition below:

Final Standings

1 Glen Kirk, Old Dominion Freight Line, Indiana
2 David Rohman, FedEx Express, North Carolina
3 David Murphy, YRC Freight, Idaho
4 Walter McGuire, Walmart Transportation, Georgia
5 Sam Wilson, XPO Logistics, Nebraska

1 James Duffy, FedEx Freight, Wisconsin
2 Tony Archambault, Walmart Transportation, Maine
3 Daniel Shamrell, FedEx Freight, Oregon
4 Steven Ward, FedEx Express, South Carolina
5 Darrell Shelton, FedEx Freight, Washington
6 Bruce Quaal, YRC Freight, Minnesota

1 Michael Miltenberger, PITT OHIO, Maryland
2 Jose Orozco, XPO Logistics, Arizona
3 Artur Lesniowski, FedEx Ground, New Jersey
4 Nicholas Jones, FedEx Freight, Oregon
5 Tom Hopkins, Walmart Transportation, Nebraska

1 Richard Crowder, FedEx Freight, Kentucky
2 Dennis Shirar, Walmart Transportation, Indiana
3 Brian Walker, UPS Freight, North Carolina
4 Donald Logan, FedEx Freight, Kansas
5 Edward Mikan, UPS, Illinois

Sleeper Berth
1 Roland Bolduc, FedEx Express, Massachusetts
2 Heladio Fernandez, FedEx Freight, Oregon
3 Rick Pledger, Walmart Transportation, Texas
4 Brian Hall, Old Dominion Freight Line, Tennessee
5 Gary Mars, Walmart Transportation, Arkansas

Straight Truck
1 Richard Bailey, FedEx Freight, Michigan
2 Brent Glasenapp, FedEx Express, Wisconsin
3 Dale Brenaman, UPS, Kentucky
4 Christopher Shaw, FedEx Express, New Mexico
5 David Hawk, FedEx Freight, Alabama

Tank Truck
1 Scott Woodrome, FedEx Freight, Ohio
2 Thomas Garner, FedEx Freight, Alabama
3 Anthony Spero, ABF Freight System, Connecticut
4 Gerald Wrinkle, Walmart Transportation, Kentucky
5 Daniel Bartelson, XPO Logistics, North Dakota

1 Chris Poynor, XPO Logistics, Washington
2 Jeffrey Rose, YRC Freight, Ohio
3 Marcus Byrd, FedEx Freight, Mississippi
4 Michael Flippin, FedEx Freight, Colorado
5 Esteban Perez, AAA Cooper Transportation, Texas

Step Van
1 Michael Bills, FedEx Express, North Carolina
2 Jason Imhoff, Walmart Transportation, Ohio
3 Ceth Christensen, UPS, Illinois
4 Bartholomew Masciulli, FedEx Express, Pennsylvania
5 Kailen Bronson, FedEx Ground, Oregon

Back To Top